List of Universities That Are Not Under ASUU

Do you need a list of Nigerian universities that are not affiliated with ASUU? If so, you are reading the appropriate blog post.

Searching for institutions that are not part of ASUU is crucial right now. Why? As a result of the ASUU strike becoming a tradition and a regular occurrence in Nigeria’s higher education system.

The majority of students in the country are affected by the ASUU strike, which regrettably happens almost annually.


The Academic Staff Union of Universities acronym ASUU was established in 1978 as a Nigerian union of university academic staff.

In the 1980s, the Union took a leading role in the resistance to the military government. For fair salaries and university autonomy, the union conducted a national strike in 1988.

Hence, on August 7, 1988, the ASUU was declared prohibited and all of its assets were seized. During a subsequent strike, it was again prohibited on August 23, 1992, though it had been permitted to resume in 1990.

On the other hand, a deal was achieved on September 3 that addressed a number of the union’s requests, including the right of employees to engage in collective bargaining.

In order to protest the military government of Sani Abacha’s firing of employees, the ASUU planned additional strikes in 1994 and 1996.

The Nigerian Association of University Teachers (NAUT), which was founded in 1965, is where ASUU sprung from. Back then, NAUT only included five universities: the University of Ibadan, the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, the University of Ife, and the University of Lagos.

The organization’s president was announced as Professor Victor Emmanuel Osodeke on May 30, 2021.

The National Association of Medical and Dental Academics (NAMDA) and the Congress of Nigerian University Academics have been formed by the Federal Government of Nigeria following ASUU’s 234-day (33-week) strike action (CONUA).

ASUU, in the words of its founders, is a labor union whose goals include regulating interactions between academic staff and employers, promoting membership in the activities of the university system and the country, and defending and advancing the socio-economic and cultural interests of the country.

Universities that do not fall under the control of the National Union (ASUU) exist, just as there are universities that adhere to their directives.

Since they do not rely on the government for salary payments or other forms of financial assistance, these universities are largely privately held.

There is no logical justification for them to be a part of ASUU or take part in any of their strikes. That shows that all government-owned universities in Nigeria are under the ASUU while some state universities are also under ASUU.

In this article, we meticulously made an encyclopedic list of universities that are not under the Academic Staff Union of Nigeria. Ranging from Federal, State, and Private. We urge you to read carefully.

List of Federal Universities Not Under ASUU in Nigeria

1. University of Nigeria, Nsukka

2. University of Ilorin

State Universities Not Under ASUU in Nigeria

There are some State universities in Nigeria that are not under ASUU. These universities are:

1. Delta State University (DELSU)

2. Rivers State University (RSU)

3. Anambra State University (ANSU)

4. Abia State University (ABSU)

5. Osun State University (UNIOSUN)

6. Ekiti State University (EKSU)

7. Lagos State University (LASU)

List of  Private Universities Not Under ASUU

Interestingly, all private universities in Nigeria are not under ASUU. There’re 79 private Universities that are not under ASUU strike in Nigeria. See the full list below:

1. Achievers University, Owo

2. Adeleke University, Ede

3. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State

4. African University of Science & Technology, Abuja Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan

5. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin

6. Al-Qalam University, Katsina

7. American University of Nigeria, Yola

8. Augustine University

9. Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo

10. Baze University

11. Bells University of Technology, Otta

12. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City

13. Bingham University, New Karu

14. Bowen University, Iwo

15. Caleb University, Lagos

16. Caritas University, Enugu

17. Chrisland University

18. Covenant University Ota

19. Crawford University Igbesa

20. Crescent University

21. Edwin Clark University,

22. Elizade University

23. Evangel University

24. Fountain University,

25. Godfrey Okoye University

26. Gregory University

27. Hallmark University

28. Hezekiah University

29. Igbinedion University

30. Joseph Ayo Babalola University

31. Kings University

32. Kwararafa University

33. Landmark University

34. Lead City University, Ibadan

35. Madonna University,

36. Mcpherson University

37. Micheal & Cecilia Ibru University

38. Mountain Top University

39. Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja

40. Novena University, Ogume

41. Obong University, Obong Ntak

42. Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State

43. Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos

44. Paul University, Awka – Anambra State

45. Redeemer’s University, Ede

46. Renaissance University, Enugu

47. Rhema University, Obeama-Asa – Rivers State

48. Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom

49. Salem University, Lokoja

50.  Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa.

51. Southwestern University, Oku Owa

52. Summit University

53. Tansian University, Umunya

54. University of Mkar, Mkar

55. Veritas University, Abuja

56. Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State

57. Wesley University. of Science & Technology

58. Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State

59. Christopher University Mowe

60. Kola Daisi University Ibadan, Oyo State

61. Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State

62. Dominican University Ibadan Oyo State

63. Legacy University, Okija Anambra State

64. Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross River State

65. Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State

66. Coal City University Enugu State

67. Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State

68. Admiralty University, Ibusa Delta State

69. Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State

70. Precious Cornerstone University, Oyo

71. PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Portharcourt

72. Atiba University Oyo

73. Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences

74. Skyline University, Kano

75. Greenfield University, Kaduna

76. Dominion University Ibadan

77. Trinity University

78. Westland University Iwo, Osun State

79. Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan.

I strongly believe this piece of writing aids in your educational decisions and pursuits. We endeavor to keep you updated for more additional information about the subject discussed above. Do well to check us back for more answers to questions you may likely want to ask concerning this post.

If you have a question, kindly drop it in the comment section, and we’ll do our best to answer as soon as possible.