JAMB Subject Combination For Public Health

What JAMB Subject Combinations are Required for a Public Health Degree in Nigeria? To study public health, do I need to pass the WAEC math exam? What academic subjects are necessary to study public health? To study public health, what JAMB subject will I choose?

Anyone who wants to study public health in Nigeria must be aware of the subjects required to enroll in public health course which is essential.

We have observed instances where students who are interested in a particular course choose to register for the incorrect subject combination in JAMB and at their O’level (WAEC, NECO, or NABTEB) simply because they were ill-informed and later began looking for ways to fix the error.

The good news is that with the help of this guide, you will have the WAEC and JAMB subject combination needed to study Public health at any university in Nigeria. Mind you, this subject combination is the same for all universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education in Nigeria.

This means that regardless of the university you choose to attend (UNIBEN, UI, UNILAG, DELSU, etc.), you must enroll in and pass these courses to be qualified for admission to study Public health in Nigeria.

If you want to study Public health in Nigeria, you must first earn at least five (5) credits in your core courses at the O’ level (WAEC, NECO, or NABTEB) and enroll in four (4) subjects for the JAMB exam, which you should pass with a score of at least 220 to improve your chances of admission.

Public Health

Public health is still a relatively new field, and only a few universities provide undergraduate public health programs in Nigeria. Prior to now, medical postgraduate colleges, community health centers, and nursing schools were the primary locations for basic public health education, particularly in community and environmental health.

Microbiology and other para-medical fields like medical laboratory science have always included public health education and courses in their curricula.

However, It is only a major discipline offered at a select few schools. As public health education becomes a higher priority, more schools are joining the battle in Nigeria. In this article, we’ve also provided a list of schools that offer public health courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

JAMB Subject Combination for Public Health

Public Health is studied under the Faculty of Medicine, Pharmaceutical & Health Sciences in Nigeria Universities.

1. Use of English

2. Physics

3. Chemistry

4. Biology.

WAEC Subject Combination for Public Health

The WAEC (O level) subject combinations to study Public Health are:

  •  Mathematics
  • Chemistry
  • Biology
  • Physics
  • English Language.
  • and other science-related subjects

Cut Off Mark for Public Health

If a student receives a score below this one on the JAMB exam, they will not be admitted to any Nigerian universities unless they look into other admissions options.

This Cut off-mark has been assigned as follows for Universities, Polytechnics, and Colleges of Education

Universities (Federal, State, and Private) 160
Polytechnics 120
Colleges Of Education 100

Direct Entry Requirement for Public Health

  • Additionally, you need three (3) other O Level credit passes in Mathematics, Physics, and English Language in addition to two (2) “A” Level passes in Biology/Zoology, Chemistry, and Physics.
  • NRN or an approved equivalent plus five (5) O Level credit passes in the English Language and four (4) Science subjects from the list of Human Anatomy, Physiology and Hygiene, Health Science, Further Mathematics, and General Science.

UTME Requirement for Public Health Science

  • Five (5) SSC credit passes in Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, and English Language.

List of Universities That Offer Public Health in Nigeria

At present, below is the list of 27 universities that offer Public Health (Technology):

  •  Abia State University Uturu (ABSU), Abia State
  • Afe Babalola University (ABUAD), Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State
  • l-Hikmah University (AL-HIKMAH), Ilorin, Kwara State
  • Arthur Javis University (ARTHUR-JARVIS) Akpabuyo, Calabar, Cross River State
  • Adeleke University, Ede (AUE), Osun State
  • Bauchi State University (BASU) Gadau, Bauchi State
  • Bingham University (BINGHAM), New Karu, Abuja
  • Bowen University (BOWEN) Iwo, Osun State
  • Evangel University (EVANGEL), Akaeze Ebonyi State
  • Gregory University (GREGORY), Uturu, Abia State
  • Imo State University (IMSU) Owerri, Imo State
  • Kwara State University (KWASU) Malete, Kwara State
  • Lead City University (LCITY), Ibadan Oyo State
  • National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN)
  • Zamfara State University (ZAMFARA) Talata Mafara Zamfara State
  • Taraba State University, Jalingo (TSUJ) Taraba State
  • Chrisland University (CHRISLAND) Abeokuta, Ogun State
  • Baze University (BAZE), Cadastral Zone, Abuja
  • Achievers University (ACHIEVERS), Owo, Ondo State
  • Fountain University (FOUNTAIN), Osogbo, Osun State
  • Atiba University (ATIBA), Isokun, Oyo, Oyo State
  • Babcock University (BABCOCK) Ilishan Remo, Ogun State
  • University of Calabar (UNICAL) Calabar, Cross River State
  • The Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO) Imo State
  • Madonna University (MADONNA) Okija Anambra State
  • Osun State University (UNIOSUN) Osogbo, Osun State
  • Federal College of Dental Technology and Therapy (FCDTT-FUTO) Enugu, Enugu State
  • Dagama’S College Of Health Science And Tech. Sabon Gari, Zaria, Kaduna State
  • Wellspring University, Irhihi-Ogbaneki, Benin City, Edo State.